Meet the School Council

The School Council Members are:

The Chair Persons:
Daniel P – Head Boy
Faith – Head Girl

Secretary  – Kacey

Treasurer – Daniel H – Deputy Head Boy

Other Members:
Abigail – Deputy Head Girl

The School Council meet once a month in school. The Head Boy and Head Girl take it in turns to chair the meetings. One of the functions of the Council is to organise and lead the many fund raising events that take place each year – such as the MacMillan Coffee morning, Children in Need, Comic Relief, Sports Relief and National Autism Awareness Day. The Council always leads these events with much enthusiasm and have proved to be very successful fund raisers – we recently raised £415 for Children in Need!

The School Council also serves as the Eco-Committee and has earned the Bronze and Silver Awards over the last two previous school years. This has involved such things as: checking that everyone in school turns the light off when they leave rooms, switching off computers that are not being used and putting litter in the bin. Now we are going for Green Flag Status – the top award, we hope to achieve this during next summer term.

The other function of the School Council is to bring the ideas and concerns of the pupils in each class to the attention of the Council. The School Council discusses them and decides what can be done to help – one year pupils asked for more play equipment in the playground, the School Council took this request to the Head Teacher who managed to bid for some money to pay for new bikes and even swings and a climbing frame.